Code of Conduct Committee

The ACFID Code of Conduct Committee (the Committee) was established to support the Australian aid and development sector to achieve the highest ethical standards and effectiveness by promoting integrity and best practice in accountability and transparency, through the through the ACFID Code of Conduct.

The Committee was created by ACFID Council and operates independently of ACFID's Board in the following areas:

  • Granting, suspending and revoking Code of Conduct (Code) signatory status
  • Compliance assessment
  • Investigating and adjudicating complaints.

The Code of Conduct Committee works with the ACFID Board and secretariat to

  • Develop and administer the Code of Conduct
  • Promote the Code
  • Educate Signatories about the Code.

The Committee is made up of:

  • An independent honorary chair
  • Six members elected by and from the Council of ACFID members;
  • One appointed representative of the Australian community
  • Up to two specialist-based appointed positions, with skills and experience in accordance with current requirements of the Code of Conduct Committee.

Committee members serve three-year terms and can serve up to two terms.

The roles and responsibilities of the Code of Conduct Committee are described in the Terms of Reference of the ACFID Code of Conduct Committee.

Office Bearers

Independent Chair

Clare Petre

Elected Members

John Gilmore (Co-Deputy Chair) – Executive Director, Churches of Christ Global Mission Partners (GMP)

Bandula Gonsalkorale (Co-Deputy Chair)  Finance and IT Director, ChildFund Australia
Eva Hall - Program Officer, Marie Stope International Australia
Seak-King Huang - Legal Counsel and Policy Advisor, Save the Children Australia

Simon Miller – Legal Counsel and Policy Advisor, Save the Children Australia

Specialist appointments

Michelle Pearce, Accounting Specialist - Bachelor of Accounting, Fellow Chartered Accountant

Liana Buchanan, Australian Community Representative - Executive Officer, Federation of Community Legal Centres

Julie Mundy, NGO and partnership specialist  

Bios of the Committee members can be downloaded here.