Governance Committees

The ACFID Board is supported by two permanent governance sub-committees, and one independent governance committee - the Code of Conduct Committee (CCC). These committees report to the Board at each of their four annual meetings.

These two governance sub-committees are:

ACFID’s Code of Conduct is independently governed on behalf of the ACFID Board and ACFID Council by the ACFID Code of Conduct Committee. The CCC is created by Council and operates in accordance with a ToR approved by ACFID’s Board. The CCC has autonomy in decision making in regard to determining the Code signatory status of ACFID members, compliance assessments and complaints handling. 

The Board is also informed by a number of non-governance expert reference groups. These groups report to the Chief Executive Officer and as required to the Board, and play an important role in building the knowledge and capacity of the sector. 

These expert reference groups are:

ACFID is part of a separate joint NGO-DFAT committee, the Committee for Development Cooperation, which is composed of ACFID members and DFAT appointees.

ACFID also operates a range of thematic, geographic and functional member-led communities of practice called Communities of Practice.

  • Finance and Audit Committee

    The purpose of the Finance and Audit Committee is to assist the Executive Committee of ACFID to fulfil their corporate governance and oversight responsibilities in relation to financial reporting, internal control structure, risk management systems and the external audit functions.

    Read More

  • Membership Admissions Committee

    The primary purpose of the Membership Admissions Committee (MAC) is to review applications from organisations that want to become members of ACFID and to make recommendations to the Code of Conduct Committee (CCC) and ACFID’s Board.

    Read More