Recognising Outstanding Contributions – The ACFID Awards

ACFID presented three awards at its 2016 conference in Melbourne on 26 October. 

Sir Ron Wilson Human Rights Award 

The Sir Ron Wilson Human Rights Award was awarded to President of the Human Rights Commission, Professor Gillian Triggs, in recognition of her outstanding contribution to advancing human rights. Read her acceptance of the award and congratulatory comments from ACFID President, Sam Mostyn. 


ACFID Media Award

The ACFID Media Award was presented to the Australian Associated Press Canberra political reporter, Lisa Martin, for her coverage of domestic violence in Papua New Guinea.

The award recognised Martin’s substantial contribution to raising awareness of the dire situation faced by women and children in Papua New Guinea who experience domestic violence, as well as her significant follow up on the key issue. Read Marc Purcell’s comments here


Contribution to the Sector 

The Rev John Deane, Executive Director of the Anglican Board of Mission, received the ACFID Contribution to the Sector Award for his long service and particularly his time serving on ACFID’s Committee for Development Cooperation.

In a letter bestowing the award on Rev Deane, ACFID President, Sam Mostyn said: “Your service on the CDC for 18 of its 41 years make you the longest serving committee member of the Australian Aid Program’s longest running stakeholder committee with citizen run development NGOs. In doing so, you have engaged with the Australian Government in mediating relations with common sense, good grace and diligence.”