Code of Conduct Committee

The ACFID Code of Conduct Committee (the Committee) was established to support the Australian aid and development sector to achieve the highest ethical standards and effectiveness by promoting integrity and best practice in accountability and transparency, through the  through the ACFID Code of Conduct.

The Committee is created by ACFID Council and operates independently of ACFID’s Board in the following areas:

  • Granting, suspending and revoking Code of Conduct (Code) signatory status
  • Compliance assessment
  • Investigating and adjudicating complaints.

The Committee works with the ACFID Board and secretariat to:

  • Develop and administer the Code of Conduct
  • Promote the Code
  • Educate Signatories about the Code.

The Committee is made up of:

  • An independent honorary chair
  • Six members elected by and from the Council of ACFID members;
  • one appointed representative of the Australian community
  • up to three specialist-based appointed positions, with skills and experience in accordance with current requirements of the Committee.

Committee members serve three-year terms and can serve up to two terms.

The roles and responsibilities of the Code of Conduct Committee are described in the Terms of Reference of the ACFID Code of Conduct Committee.



Nominations now open – close 6pm AEST Monday 23 September 2019.

What does the role entail? See the CCC position description here 

Who can nominate? Eligibility is detailed in  clause 13.9 (c-e) of the ACFID Constitution

How to nominate? Completed nomination forms should be submitted via email to the Returning Officer for the Election, Mark Carpenter, details below. 

Please note that your completed Nomination form should also include a one-page biography and portrait image of yourself to be displayed on the voting website. 

What happens after nominating? ACFID will be using an online voting platform provided by Elections Australia to manage the voting process. The elections will open Monday September 30th 2019 and will run until Midnight, Monday October 21st
The Election results will be announced a week later at the ACFID AGM,  Wednesday October 23rd.  

If you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact the Returning Officer, Mark Carpenter via the details on the nomination form.


Office Bearers

Independent Chair

Clare Petre

Elected Members

Leah Odongo – Executive Director/Program Director, Australian Lutheran World Service

Greg Cadman – Manager, Compliance Department, Global Development Group

Simon Miller (Deputy Chair) – General Counsel, Save the Children Australia

Bob Mitchell – CEO, Anglican Overseas Aid

Nimarta Khuman - Committee of Management, Assisi Aid Projects

Donna McSkimming - Director of Programs, International Women's Development Agency


Specialist appointments

Michelle Pearce , Accounting specialist - Bachelor of Accounting, Fellow Chartered Accountant

Rebecca MacFarling (Deputy Chair), Fundraising and Marketing specialist

Prof. Simon Rice, Australian Community representative 

Renee Martin, NGO and partnership specialist 


Download the biographies of the Code of Conduct Committee.


Committee meetings

The CCC meets four times each year. Communiques of each meeting are produced so that ACFID’s members can read and understand the work of the CCC. You can download these using the links below. If you have questions about the CCC, please email [email protected]

CCC Meeting August 2019

CCC Meeting May 2019

CCC Meeting February 2019

CCC Meeting November 2018

CCC Meeting August 2018

CCC Meeting May 2018

CCC Meeting February 2018

CCC Meeting November 2017

CCC Meeting August 2017

CCC Meeting May 2017

CCC Meeting February 2017