Home 5 Learning 5 Past Conferences 5 2015 Conference 5 Changes to ACFID’s Constitution

Changes to ACFID’s Constitution

2015 Annual General Meeting

ACFID members passed a number of changes to ACFID’s Constitution at the Annual General Meeting to support the delivery of the organisations new five-year Strategic Plan for more information view here.

These changes included ACFID’s Executive Committee shifting to a Board – reaffirming its focus on governance, matters of strategy, risk and accountability – and the introduction of a cap on Board appointments of two three year terms. To coincide with the shift to a Board, ACFID’s ‘Executive Director’ role will become a ‘Chief Executive Officer’ focused on leading the organisation accountable to the Board.

A further change voted through by ACFID members was to reduce ACFID’s governance committees from six to two. The two remaining governance committees are the Finance and Audit Committee and the Code of Conduct Committee. Other ACFID committees such as the Development Practice Committee and Humanitarian Reference Group will evolve into management-mandated expert advisory committees which will drive strategic agendas and provide high level strategic advice to ACFID.

ACFID Board.

The results of elections of new ACFID Board members were announced at the ACFID Annual General Meeting. ACFID President Sam Mostyn was re-elected for another two years, Vice President and Treasurer Nigel Spence (ChildFund Australia) was re-elected for a three year term. Directors Brian Doolan (Fred Hollows Foundation), Dr Helen Szoke (Oxfam Australia), Joanna Hayter (International Women’s Development Agency) and Matthew Maury (TEAR Australia) were all re-elected for three year terms.


A woman in a brightly coloured scarf peers through coffee bean bushes on either side of her.

Annual Report 2022-23

Reporting on ACFID’s activities to ensure transparency and accountability


ACFID is the peak body for Australian NGOs involved in international development and humanitarian action.


ACFID works and engages with a range of strategic partners in addition to our members.


ACFID is governed by its Board, ACFID Council, and various expert and governance committees.


A line of ladies in colourful outfits cheer and dance joyously.

Conference 2023

disruptive dynamics, inspired ideas

18-19 October 2023

Meet our Members

The ACFID membership is comprised of Australian NGOs that actively work in the international aid and development sector.

Become a member

Joining ACFID means joining an experienced and powerful mix of like-minded organisations committed to good international development practice.

Membership types & fees

ACFID has two types of organisational membership: Full Membership and Affiliate Membership.

State of the Sector

The State of the Sector Report provides a comprehensive and robust analysis of the state of the Australian aid and development sector.

NGO Aid Map

ACFID’s NGO Aid Map allows the Australian public and stakeholders to explore the work of ACFID Members around the world.

Development Practice Committee

The DPC is an expert advisory group of development practitioners leading good practice within the sector.

Our Focus

Four men paint a colourful mural

Federal Budget 23-24 Analysis

Facts and figures on how aid is presented in this year’s annual budget

Strategic Plan

ACFID prioritises a robust response to climate change and pressure on civil society in developing countries, as well as other key priorities.

Emergency Aid

ACFID Members provide vital life-saving assistance in the immediate aftermath of an emergency.

Climate Change

Action on climate change is one of ACFID’s highest priorities, as it is an existential threat to humanity and our development.

Civil Society

Civil societies are a cornerstone of regional stability and ensure that the voices of the marginalised are heard.

Supporting NGOS

Supporting NGOs as Valuable Partners.

Inclusive & locally led development

Walking the talk on inclusive development.

Humanitarian Action

Taking humanitarian action for those in greatest need.

Elevating Development

Elevating Development to the Heart of Australia’s International Engagement.


Improving standards, practice and culture to prevent and respond to sexual exploitation, abuse and harassment.

Code of Conduct

A small girl stands in front of a multi-coloured finger paint artwork, with a blue paint covered hand

2022-23 ACFID Code of Conduct Review

The ACFID Code of Conduct is periodically reviewed to ensure it continues to reflect good practice and the needs of ACFID and its members.

Code of Conduct

The Code is a voluntary, self-regulatory industry code of good practice.

About the Code

Find out more about the Code of Conduct and how it operates.

Good Practice Toolkit

Overview and practical resources, and examples to support the implementation of the Code.

Spotlight on the Code

Provides a thematic ‘deep dive’ into each of the nine Quality Principles in the Code


This section outlines the responsibility to be taken by each Member to ensure compliance with the Code.

Complaints Handling

How to make a complaint and information on the Code’s independent mechanism to address concerns relating to an ACFID Members’ conduct.

Other Standards

Mapping the Code with other professional standards and principles in the humanitarian and aid sector in Australia and internationally